Summative Entry

This unit has enabled me to reflect on the similarities and differences between human experience in the 19th and 21st centuries.

Studying the similarities and differences between human experience in both the 19th and 21st century has allowed me to explore the significant historical change of time in era and individuals. The literature component that comes with both periods of time has crucially impacted a vivid image of what life was like. Throughout the unit, the focus on authors William Wordsworth, Charles Dickens, Mary Wollstonecraft, Anton Chekhov and Leo Tolstoy has allowed me to dive into a new world of experience through language and dialogue. My blog for this unit consists of pieces of work that I have gathered from these composers texts that have ultimately provided me with a framework of understanding to reflect on the similarities and differences of both centuries. 

My first blog on Tintern Abbey and how Wordsworth was so inspired by the place enabled me to gather a deeper understanding of his perspective life and place of writing. Whilst studying the history, location and description of the Abbey, I was able to envision the inspiration Wordsworth had from this place. I was able to make a connection between both human experience and Wordsworth’s connection to nature. This also allowed me to reflect on how individual’s of this time took time to appreciate the simpler things in life in comparison to people of the 21st century. For my second blog, I was able to address this topic from my own experience to the NSW Art Gallery visit in which I was asked to write on a painting of my choice that portrayed my understanding between literature and its context. I chose to write my piece on an artwork by Sir Luke Fildes “The Widower” (1875-1876). I was first taken away by this painting as it portrayed a family belonging to the 19th century in which portrayed the suffering of a family that depicted much human emotion. The struggles of families in the 19th century demonstrated in this artwork has opened my eyes to the hardships they endured physically and mentally. Although we can compare this artwork to today’s society as there are various counts of individual’s that endure their own battles. 

Blog three gave me the opportunity to reflect on a Victorian man’s life and upbringing with influence from social and economical aspects. In this blog, I wrote about the early stages of my characters life in which he had to work in order to support his family. Progressing through the storyline, I emphasise on his adulthood where I speak on his relationship with his father and the devastating passing of his mother. The lessons and morals my character has learnt throughout the years of being with his father has shaped his future and further human experience and relationships. The last blog I have written circulates the view that Tolstoy has on the value of the working class and his upbringing that may or may not have influenced his viewpoint. Through one of Tolstoy’s books “The death of Ivan Ilyich”, the past human experience and social surroundings have impacted his belief on the value of the 19th century working class. 

Through exploring 19th-century literature, I have developed a competent understanding of the similarities and differences of both 19th and 21st century human experience. By writing my blogs, I have developed new skills in analysing literature and writing critically and creatively. 

One thought on “Summative Entry

  1. Christine this is a thorough and comprehensive survey of what you have covered and what has interested you most. You show well what has impacted your own sense of what it is to be human in the 21 st century. This is a great outcome. Some careful editing is needed. You will find a few corrections in LEO.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started