Blog 4

Imagine that you have made the decision to become a poet as your main aim in life. Describe briefly what sacrifices you are planning to make and how you think your friends and family are going to respond.

To tell my family that I will be leaving my teaching profession to become a poet will cause much reaction but also support from both my family and friends. Poetry is a beautiful element of literature that allows writers to capture their true emotions and thoughts with their selection of words.

“You’re becoming a poet?!… why?…what made you change your mind?”

A question that I will hear from each of my family members and even my friends. Even though I believe I will have great support, it would be a shock to my loved ones. My social life may become a bit of a bore, leaving my friends wondering why I chose this life. The late nights, parties, family gatherings will all have to be sacrificed in order for me to concentrate on my ultimate goal in becoming a poet.

“Where will you go now? what about your job? university? teaching?”

Questions that will arise from my parents and grandparents worried about my future and how I will cope with change. My life will be adjusted to fit my dream of writing which means i’ll have to change jobs and lifestyle to focus on poetry. Change is something that can be scary and revolves around the fear of the unknown. I know this leap of faith will bring me closer to my dreams and for that, I will have the best support from my family and friends.

2 thoughts on “Blog 4

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started